Day 29


As a self-proclaimed “hat person” I couldn’t have been happier today watching the Royal Wedding!

When I was a kid, I got up early to watch the wedding of Charles and Diana. It was like a fairy tale! Today, I set my alarm but couldn’t bring myself to get up until 5:30! I saw the kiss and went back to bed!

Watching the ceremony though, I couldn’t help but think, maybe this couple will change things.

I was trying to think about why so many marriages, famous or not, ended up on the skids and in tatters.

We just don’t treat each other well enough. I mean men AND women.

We expect too much. We expect our partner to be “perfect”, to never make mistakes, never mess up, never change, never want to grow. All of those things are preposterous and it’s no wonder so many of us have ended up in divorce! I’ve done a lot of those things! Hindsight, sadly sometimes, is 20/20.

But maybe there’s hope now. Maybe there are enough young people who have been ill-affected by their parents’ split to really want to work at it.

I think back to my parents’ generation. My mom and I talked about it today. She was 19 when she married my dad, 21 when she had me! She left her parents’ home, not knowing how to cook, clean, nor balance a cheque book, let alone how to be an adult or parent. She felt smothered. My dad was all of 21 when they married and 23 when he became a father for the first time. It was expected. That’s just what they were supposed to do.

Now, people are waiting longer and it’s for the better I think. I wonder though if people take marriage seriously. I’m not saying that people can’t be committed and not marry, each couple is different, but why take the plunge if you aren’t in it for the long haul? Honestly. I just don’t get that. I mean, of course if there is physical or mental abuse, you should get out of that situation, but why get married when you’re not completely sure? Why does our society put so much pressure on people to be “coupled”?

If I had the answers, I’d be taking over for Oprah!

Careerwise, I’m excited about all the opportunities coming up!

My session with Lisa last night was fantastic, she is just the best motivator and so good at what she does! I can’t say enough about her!

I had this idea that I wanted to start a camp for pre-teen girls, “tweens” if you will. I want it to be outdoors, overnight for a week at a time, no technology, a “famous” motivational female each week, along with of course other support, improving self-esteem while teaching these budding young ladies how to communicate face to face, learn how to stay active and fit without having to starve themselves later or join a gym (a lot of gyms won’t allow that till they are 16 anyway) and basically let them know that it’s okay to not be a size 2, that they are beautiful because of how they treat other people and for the love they have for themselves.

Lisa had some great ideas and I think I have a bang-up one for a fundraiser, piggy-backing on this Royal Wedding hoopla!

I sure would be grateful to be able to help some young girls not feel as tormented on the inside as I did as a pre-teen!

I am hopeful this last Friday of April!

And excited that the weather is expected to turn! I plan a long run tomorrow as well as a nice long hike with my pooch!

I loved seeing Victoria Beckham’s hat and it reminded me of how much I loved the Spice Girls and how inspiring I thought this song was at the time it came out!

Leave a Reply

