Day 20


Time to hunker down and train!

I felt a bit defeated today. I went to the gym to run on the treadmill and got really tired! And a headache! I have to admit, it was likely nerves about keeling over. I pushed through it but I’m not where I was before I visited the hospital! I know it will come back quickly but it was a tad deflating!

I also realized, that if I want to do the Woodstock Tri, which is the weekend of June 12, 13, I only have about 7 weeks if I start seriously training on Monday. I have both a 6-week and 12-week training plan to complete a sprint. I just hope I have enough time!

I’m also wondering if I should just do a try-a-tri which is a shorter distance all around. I have a friend who lives in my neighbourhood and teaches at my gym. He has signed up for that race. We could train together and encourage each other!

I will have to decide over the Easter holiday!

After getting some advice from a friend who is somewhat of a gadget “expert”, I decided not to go with a Garmin 305, as it’s more watch than I really need. I have a GPS on my iPhone that I use with an app called RunKeeper and I use the iPod part of the iPhone when I run anyway. I have a pretty good data plan so all I really needed was a heart rate device.  My friend suggested Polar was likely the best brand. I found a Timex heart-rate zone training watch at Costco about $100 cheaper than either a Polar or Garmin. If it sucks, as long as I have the receipt, I can bring it back!

I can’t seem to get my nutrition right! If I follow a diet a trainer once had me on when I was getting “fit” at “wedding boot camp” before I got married, I feel too full and do not lose weight, even though I am weight-training AND doing cardio. I think I’ve screwed up my metabolism so badly yo-yo dieting over the years, it’s just saying,”You can’t fool me THIS time sister!”

I’ll hunt around for some good nutritional advice as well!

Otherwise, I just feel fantastic! I feel like something magical is afoot! I am so grateful for the caring and supportive friends I have, friends I am reconnecting with and new friends as well! Everything is coming together!

I am also noticing the hot guys that are at the gym, and everywhere for that matter! Why did I not see these fellows before? 🙂 I guess I was just wrapped up in my own “stuff”!

There is a really great deal on cheap flights to St. John’s Newfoundland, somewhere I’ve always wanted to go! I’m debating about spending money I don’t have and buying a ticket on a wing and a prayer! Stay tuned for that!

Friday is my birthday and our regular girls’ night will be moving to the pub in my neighbourhood! Am excited to celebrate with friends and extended family this Easter weekend!

I also meet with life coach Michael again tomorrow!

When I was at the gym today, this song came on the iPod! I LOVE Elvis Costello! OMG, remember the show Solid Gold? Here he is performing on that show!

Leave a Reply

