Day 13 & 14


Back in the saddle!

OK, that’s not me, it’s World and Olympic Champion Victoria Pendleton. But it COULD be me!!!

Let’s back track a bit…

Yesterday, I spent most of the day helping a friend manually transfer all of his client data into a new computer system. He’s bringing all of his 20 + years’ worth of client base to a new hair salon. I’m a pretty fast typist. We got the job done, in fact, it was really challenging and fun! He bought me lunch and dinner, and we were square!

I also met with my life coach Michael again! It was phenomenal! I feel more confident and a bit more sure of my road ahead, likely more than ever! Michael’s entry into my life has been a Godsend! You can find out more about Michael G. Duhaney and his life coaching at his website here!

Today was the big day, going back to my GP. As I expressed earlier, I’ve been afraid to go too hard-working out so I’ve been almost paralyzed!

When Dr. Swift entered the examination room, he jokingly said, “You’ve been misbehaving!” He then proceeded to tell me my low sodium had everything to do with me drinking way too much water and not enough electrolytes/sodium/potassium. I looked him in the face and said, “I have to ask you something, ” and I started to tear up, “I’m afraid to run. I’m afraid I’ll keel over and die, all alone on a path, and no one will find me!” I had full-on tears at this point and my lip was quivering. He moved closer to me, looked me in the eye and said, “There is nothing wrong with your heart. This only had to do with dehydration. The fact that you made it through this proves how strong your heart really is!”

I was relieved. I then asked him a few questions Lisa wanted me to ask about maximum heart rate etc. After dissing people who run with a heart rate monitor, looks like I’m going to have to purchase one myself! Small price for my sanity and Lisa’s too!

I’m due back in a month. Since I left the hospital, I was surprised when I was there that my blood pressure was actually below normal. So I’ve been hitting Shoppers Drug Mart stores and testing my blood pressure with their machines and printing them out. I showed the doc and that’s really what has kept me off the meds! But he wants me to keep testing once a week and bring the printouts back in a month!

I’ve got a free pass  now to continue!!! I’m elated!!!

I have experienced so much within our Canadian health care system in the past few months, I’m going to write an entire piece about that, maybe even a letter to the editor of a national paper! Look out for it in the VERY near future!

Suffice it to say I made no secret to the people caring for me that I understood because I am unemployed and without a health insurance provider, had I lived in the United States, I’m not sure if I would have been able to pay for the care I’ve just received! I know no one gets turned away but I was absolutely ashamed by the amount and the level of spitefulness at the root of so many people’s complaints.

Walk a mile in an American family’s shoes on social assistance.

And so I am grateful!!! Grateful to be in good health and grateful to live in the best country in the world! And so very grateful for the friends and family that have supported me through thick and thin!

I am truly blessed! 🙂

Now, on with the training!!! Stay tuned!!!

LOVE this AC/DC tune! Bring on the summer!!!

Leave a Reply

