Day 2


I’ve been thinking alot today.

Endurance cycling was challenging last night but I pushed myself! My hips are aching today and am trying to stretch as much as possible. I also found out there are only 2 weeks of class left!

I have kept this on the down-low and not mentioned it to too many people (until now) but just over two weeks ago, I fell in my bathroom and cracked my head on the side of the tub. It knocked me out, not sure for how long, but I was terrified to go to the hospital for fear I would have to stay there and no one could fend for my dog. I was awake all night, not realizing how much the gash was bleeding nor the size of it, because the blood caked up in my hair! Eventually my aunt came the next day and took me in. The gash was so big, it took three STAPLES to try to close it! The doc said I was lucky I made it through the night and that the scary part would have been then.

I got the staples out last week. It’s scabbed up now but sometimes I still feel light-headed, the swelling hasn’t completely gone down and my scalp still feels numb.

I felt light-headed after spin last night. I have to admit, that scared me.

Just a day before my fall, I’d reluctantly started on blood pressure meds (Mine is too high and the doc said there is nothing I can do, it’s the BOTTOM blood pressure number and that’s hereditary. I asked him is there any change I could make that I haven’t tried and he said not unless I could switch the gene pool!) Side effects from that drug include dizziness so I’m hoping it’s just the meds that need a little tweaking.

I’ve been fighting myself all day today about whether or not to run at some point and decided against it as I’m starting with my trainer Lisa tomorrow morning. I have a feeling she is going to kick my ass!

I will soon have to find someone to give me a few swimming lessons and I have to figure out WHERE I’m going to train for the swim!

I’ve decided to sign up for the Woodstock sprint tri, it’s June 11 weekend. That gives me about 10 weeks.

I have realized that I, myself, am my biggest hurdle. Once I set my mind to something, there is no stopping me, no excuses. I now need to figure out WHY my drive isn’t yet where it should be. I need to make a breakthrough!

My friend Lisa is indeed that, a good close friend. She knows more about me than most people do. I’ve allowed her in, allowed her to get close so if there are tears because we discover the reason that my thinking isn’t in the right place, I feel safe letting go with her. I trust her.

So I need to rest up tonight! Lisa said I have to drink a minimum of 1L of water before I come over, preferably 2!

No matter what you think about Eminem, this song was, and still is, haunting…

It resonated with me today!

One comment

  1. mgduhaney · April 5, 2011

    Glad you are OK form that fall. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

